Discussion Starter #1
The casting code on my rear end is 385914N

Put in in Google and everything points to a 65 chevelle

Would the GTO be the same?

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Goatroper. I suspected this was a chevy rear end,,,, don't really care that much, just curious

·
Registered
4,305 Posts
The casting code on my rear end is 385914N

Put in in Google and everything points to a 65 chevelle

Would the GTO be the same?

Just to clarify. You said "casting code." The codes listed for the GTO's are the stamped letter codes found on the axle tube. This is different than the "casting code." I am no expert by any means, but it is possible the casting code on the housing center section may be the same as the Chevelle as it is a GM piece, but all else is specific to a Pontiac spec'd rear axle when it was built/assembled.

·
Registered
147 Posts
So this stumped me for the better part of the day.

I spent quite a bit of time looking around. And I can not find a definitive answer.

To begin I think you are missing a zero in the cast code. I think it should be 3859140N instead of 385914N.