Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Yes! When I Was A Business Manager For Auffenberg Mazda I Won A Contest. Let Me Tell You After Driving That Car Around The Track I Have A Completly New Appriacation(ms) For What Nascar Drivers Do On Sunday. It Was A Great Time But I Honestly Wouldn't Pay To Do It Again. I Averaged 121.58 Mph Around Gateway. Just to let you know there is a car in front of you to keep pace.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I did it at Phoenix last Dec and it was a blast. I also did the ride-along with the driver. You could really feel the g-forces in the corners. And I culd also tell that I was no where near close to pushing the car hard in the corners. The thing just stuck like glue to the track. I was only going about 1/2 throttle on the straight-aways and I could tell the engine wanted to go. The staff are really nice. They let my 5 yr old boy sit in all the cars on pit road.

It does give you more respect to the driver's for sure.

I was the fastest in my class and we lapped some slow poke.

·
Registered
364 Posts
A friend of mine who I used to race against is an instructor at a similar school in Memphis. Based on his perspective and from I've observed myself (never been to a school such as this one), here are my thoughts.

If you want to experience driving on a track at speed, have a very memorable event, go do it. You won't regret it.

If your goal is to become a better driver, spend your money on a more formal driving school such as Skip Barber (went twice), Jim Russell (went twice), or any of the other similar schools out there. :cheers

·
Registered
62 Posts