Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to gto's and I recently changed my head unit because my factory stereo was jammed. I added a jl 10w7. However, as you probably know, there is practically no airflow from the trunk. Therefore, my sub is barely noticable. The air has nowhere to go. Which rattles the hell out of my rear speaker deck. I was thinking about removing the 2 rear speakers and just adding 2 tweeters. without the rear speakers the subwoofer will actually be heard and with a big subwoofer the rear speakers are really only needed for the highs. What do you think. Has anyone else done this???

·
Registered
116 Posts
I have heard of people putting 10s in the side behind the driver/passenger seats. I have also heard that it is possible, with some modifications, to fit 10s where the woofers are. I have seen people put 8s where the woofers are located and hear that it is fairly easy.

What did you end up doing?

·
Registered
3,765 Posts
I have heard of people putting 10s in the side behind the driver/passenger seats. I have also heard that it is possible, with some modifications, to fit 10s where the woofers are. I have seen people put 8s where the woofers are located and hear that it is fairly easy.

What did you end up doing?
I saw that done... but if screws anyone that sits in the back seats if you have the radio on. Sucks to have subs hit right next to you.

My favorite spot would be to remove the spair and mount the sub in the floor of the trunk and maybe mount the amp to the frame of the fuel tank.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I also thought about removing the factory subs, but that idea was shot down when I was told that the noise from the fuel pump would be too loud . Please let us know if you go through with it, and how it sounds. After reading the posts above , I'm frustrated.. Wish I could relocate that gas tank:mad:

·
Former Super Moderator
9,919 Posts