Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Only at the right angle in the sun you can see these swirl marks on the passenger side of the car. I have a new black 05 for three weeks and I am wondering is this that problem that everyone refers to as "blotches" on the forum and is fixed with the heat gun ?

·
Registered
558 Posts
The answer depends on what you're actually seeing. "Swirl marks" are exactly what the name implies: scratchy, smeary marks caused by inept polishing or drying a car with rough toweling. The marks are in "swirls" because that's the hand motion most folks use when drying or polishing a car--big sweeping circles.

I've had no experience with the blotching phenomenon, so can't help you there.

If you are, in fact, looking at swirl marks, check out the advice Meguiar's provides on their Web site: http://www.meguiars.com/faq/index.cfm?faqCat=Swirl Marks&faqQuestionID=58&section=_58#_58

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
I think the paint on my GTO is "softer" than other cars I own. Don't know if that will change over time, but after my first wash and wax, it just seems very easy to scratch.

I've got about a 1.5" x 6" area that has the milky look to it, right on the back edge of my trunk. I'm waiting for a hot day this summer to park it outside, and if that doesn't fix it, I'll finish it off with a heat gun as suggested. And if that doesn't work, I need to decide if it bothers me enough to have the trunk lid painted.

·
Registered
558 Posts
I've been having some success using a pair of microfiber drying towels. When one gets soaked, I toss it in the dryer and let it tumble while I use the other one, then switch back to the first one. The dryer also tends to remove any particles that may have stuck to the towel.