Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Over at my buddies body shop showing off the new 12 bolt in my 66 GTO. He's thinking of buying one from the same place I did (Home). ----highly recommended BTW
We get to chatting cars, he mentions someone he knows with a 1966 GTO with a factory 421. Off the top of my head, my reaction is "1966=389" . He swears it's factory. Says it has 421 emblems on the fenders.
So, I'm on lockdown, I'm poking around the internet and I see little tidbits of stories where they tried 421s in 1966, but only prototypes where made. Some think they were grabbed up by high ranking folks within the company, so maybe they're out there?
I fix cars for a living, so I look up parts all day.
If I go to most of my vendor's catalogs, I see 6.9L as a choice for engine size in 1966.
So what is the story? Anybody know for sure? Got a lead?

·
Premium Member
666 Posts
Of course Royal put these engines in at the dealership named bobcat,heard rumors too about these,but gm rules until 70 kept them under 400 ci. Never made sense because putting 427in a corvette and all

·
Premium Member
666 Posts
Also remember the famous test of Ferrari GTO against our GTO had the 421 installed for that comparison 👍

·
Premium Member
193 Posts
Over at my buddies body shop showing off the new 12 bolt in my 66 GTO. He's thinking of buying one from the same place I did (Home). ----highly recommended BTW
We get to chatting cars, he mentions someone he knows with a 1966 GTO with a factory 421. Off the top of my head, my reaction is "1966=389" . He swears it's factory. Says it has 421 emblems on the fenders.
So, I'm on lockdown, I'm poking around the internet and I see little tidbits of stories where they tried 421s in 1966, but only prototypes where made. Some think they were grabbed up by high ranking folks within the company, so maybe they're out there?
I fix cars for a living, so I look up parts all day.