Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I AM NOT A BODY MAN! This is my first attempt at a restortion and i did not grow up working on old cars. But for anyone who is using aftermarket fenders on your 70 GTO, heres how I got mine to line up properly with the rocker and lower portion of the door. Aftermarket fenders tend to stick out a little too far down there. Hopefully this walkthrough will help some of you. There are 4 spot welds you need to drill out to free the brace from the lower section of the fender. Then make two cuts on the brace so you can pull it away from the fender. Next make a series of relief cuts on the fender where the metal wraps around to tuck in behind the door. Then get your fender lined up on the body. Push in and pull out on the fender until everything is lining up nicely. If you're working alone like me you'll need to wedge something against the lower fender to hold it in place while you tack it in place through the door opening on the inside of the car. Once you get it tacked where you want it you can take the fender off and weld all your relief cuts and the brace back in place. You will have to take the fender on and off several times during this process and you might have to trim some pieces off if you bottom out against the body. But I am a total rookie and it turned out good enough for me. Not perfect, but if you have more patience than me, yours certainly can be. Hope this helps someone.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,208 Posts
Excellent job and great tips with photos. Came out really well. Where did the fenders come from? This may help others who buy from the same source.

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #3