·
Registered
19 Posts
trailer hitch

deezdad,

I know there is a hitch for the 04' and the Monaro is designed to pull 1600kg
in Australia. Look on:
www.hitch-web.com
look at the pic for the 04' GTO and maybe you can determine if the exhuast will get in the way on the 05'.
I'm selling my Lightning so I am also in need to install a hitch.
What type of jet ski are you pulling?

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hitch

appreciate the info... im brand new to this so i hope you get this reply. its a 97 sea-doo xp 7hundred and sumthin i forget... bought it summer 03 and havn't used it yet but definantly this year!

·
Registered
410 Posts
I installed mine last weekend so I can carry a bike rack. There are some good pictures on the link mentioned above. They helped me decide to go with this unit. However, I can add some extra tips. To extract the GTO's plastic clips, pop the center section out first with a small screw driver, then they pop off in your hands. I don't believe it is necessary to cut out the fairing material (as illustrated in the link to the GTO Page) to get the 2 bolts in. Try the install without trimming first, then trim if it doesn't fit to your liking. The Curt hitch is good quality but the install parts were not correct for me. The lock washers for the two aft studs were too small for the stud that the larger 19mm bolt went on, and too thick to allow the 17mm nut to engage the threads on the other stud. This smaller stud needs a very thin washer or none at all to get all the threads to engage. All torque to over 60 pounds but this small 17mm nut. It is supposed to be torqued at 32 pounds but I felt that 30 was pushing it.

I got this Delta bike rack at nashbar.com for $109 - more tha 50% off. A great rack. I did have to trim 2.5" off the support that holds the rear wheel to get the bike seats and bars to clear and to keep the bikes in the Goat's slip stream.

·
Registered
410 Posts