Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this car used to belong to my uncle about 20 years ago and has been setting for 10. the guy who has it now wrecked it 10 years ago. the interior is gold and in very good condition because he put a blanket over it. it has a 400 but not the origional, automatic. the origional paint was gold with black top. the body is bad and the rear is smashed. i don't think the frame got hit bad but i think it'll need to be put on a frame strecher.

Attachments

·
Registered
155 Posts
you need vin and phs before you can get an idea of how much. other than that go buy a driver gto not this one. so much fun to drive and then make it yours. mine i'll probably paint it after the youngest moves out 4-5 years from now.

·
Registered
1,612 Posts
I am by no means an expert when it comes to the classic GTO, but those two photos are pretty scary. Think hard before you jump in…

·
Premium Member
265 Posts
With the economy the way it is there are alot of GOOD project cars out there cheap and even more finished cars cheaper than in a while. I would find a solid starte car and go from there..

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
the interior needs nothing and i'm sure the motor just needs gone through. all it really needs is the body work. i figure it'll be 2 to 3 grand to get the rear quarter problem fixed and the rest of the body work isn't anything i can't handle. i don't think it is as bad as the pictures look. im thinking $1500 to 2000. rolling project cars are going for $5000 on ebay.

·
Super Moderator
5,146 Posts
I would estimate a frame off restoration on that car would run between $20 to $30 K, with the economy in a slump you can find nice numbers correct drivers for less than the cost of restoring one. Value of that car in my opinion is $1,000 to $3,000.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #10